GREEN LAKE: A classic walk in Seattle

Seattle has salt water and fresh water parks; wild shorelines, and tame.

Have you walked (or biked or run or roller-bladed) around Green Lake?

Thousands of years ago a glacier carved what is now Green Lake. Green Lake may be fresh water and have a tame paved trail, but it has water to swim in and stare at, and trees and lawns and playgrounds.

20161003_125810_001

It is flat. It is under three miles.  These are some of the views.

20161003_125710 20161003_125737  20161003_125958

You can boat.

On the shore across the lake is the home of Seattle Public Theater. The current show is a thriller, On Clover Road by Steven Dietz.

20161003_130016

You can bird watch. Some persons fish.

20161003_131256 20161003_131757_001

Information including maps, photos, amenities.

IF YOU LIVE OUTSIDE OF SEATTLE OR CAN’T GET TO GREEN LAKE,  VISIT FRESH WATER NEAR YOU (e.g. a river, a pond, a lake). TELL US WHERE YOU VISITED IN THE COMMENTS SECTION. WE WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOUR PHOTOS TOO.

About pamelahobartcarter

Pamela Hobart Carter is a writer and educator. She and Arleen Williams are No Talking Dogs Press. They have written several series of easy readers for adult English Language Learners and other adults learning to read. PHC is the author of Brace Yourself, a survival guide for adults undergoing orthodontia.
This entry was posted in Sights to See in Seattle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to GREEN LAKE: A classic walk in Seattle

  1. Green Lake is a lovely place for an afternoon stroll any time of the year! Thanks for the great photos, Pam.

    Like

  2. You’re welcome! It was a gorgeous fall day. Thanks for looking and liking.

    Like

  3. Michelle tapia says:

    I’m like walk it’s a beautiful place for relax

    Like

  4. van chu says:

    My friends shared this Green Lake. But I didn’t go, I ‘m going to this lake next summer and take some pictures here too!

    Like

  5. Avtar singh says:

    It’s. good to see beautifull

    Like

  6. Diem La says:

    I went Green Lake yesterday with my friend. This place was quiet and fresh air. It was awesome when i walked here in the afternoon. I really felt relax.

    Like

  7. Denh thang says:

    This is a amazing place to relax,i went here with my husbad yesterday.We love it.

    Like

  8. Susuki cortes says:

    Green Lake is a beautiful place I love. It brings me many memories. I’ve been there with my family many times.

    Like

  9. Pankaj kumar says:

    Great place. I like it

    Like

  10. Hilda Nunez says:

    Beautiful place to enjoy with the family

    Like

  11. Michelle Tapia says:

    I’m visit the lake Washington is very nice place for relaxin u love visit this place

    Like

  12. Michelle Tapia says:

    I’m visit the lincoln par is very nice place for relaxin I love visit this place

    Like

  13. zeinab mohamud says:

    I went to Jefferson Park on 12/5/16. Go through a community before you park the car, there is a basketball court, a playground, a waterfall, and a shelter place for picnics. There is also a golf course. I really enjoyed it there.

    Like

  14. Hsin Yu says:

    It was nice to read about green lake.

    Like

  15. Guoqiang Guan, says:

    My family going to GREEN LAKE tomorrow.

    Like

  16. Wanning says:

    There were a lot of seagulls,crow,duck and goose.
    We felt very good yesterday.

    Like

  17. Rina Ponce says:

    I stood on the dock to watch the ducks cluster near the shore. Over a few minutes time, the clouds lifted to partially obscure the moon, creating a hazy reflection on the water. It was gorgeous! I understand how artists and poets can be so inspired by the moon.

    Like

  18. Tesfamariam says:

    This place is very nice and beautiful. I love it. I had good time with my family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

