SOUTH SEATTLE COLLEGE ARBORETUM: Seattle sights to see soon

Did you know South Seattle College had an arboretum? It is small and lovely and free. The college has a master gardener program. You may bump into some very informative people as you wander the pretty paths. It has an ambitious Chinese garden (The Seattle Chinese Garden) with a wonderful fish sculpture and a peony garden. From the hilltop one can look north at downtown Seattle. The arboretum is open dawn to dusk.

sscc_20130913_0104

(Photo courtesy of The American Conifer Society)

A walking map of the arboretum.

Directions to the arboretum.

From the South Seattle College website:

The purpose of the Arboretum:

  • To provide an outdoor laboratory for landscape students
  • To provide an outdoor classroom for the entire college
  • To provide a garden sanctuary for the community-at-large

Highlights:

  • The Arboretum’s Coenosium Rock Garden contains one of the best collections of dwarf conifers in the United States
  • The Coenosium Rock Garden was inducted into the Gardens for Peace program in 2010
  • The Landscape Horticulture facilities, including the Arboretum, were awarded a “5-star” Environstar rating in 2010
  • The Arboretum became a National Wildlife Federation Urban Wildlife Sanctuary in 2012
  • The Arboretum has been “pesticide-free” since 2008
  • Articles about the Arboretum have appeared in the Seattle Times, The News Tribune, Washington Park Arboretum Bulletin, Conifer Quarterly, and Crosscut.

Gorgeous pictures and a similar article to this!

Article about the Peace Garden from The West Seattle Blog.

IF YOU LIVE OUTSIDE OF SEATTLE OR CANNOT MAKE IT TO THIS ARBORETUM, VISIT A GARDEN, CONSERVATORY, OR ARBORETUM NEAR YOU. TELL US WHERE YOU WENT IN THE COMMENTS!

About pamelahobartcarter

Pamela Hobart Carter is a writer and educator. She and Arleen Williams are No Talking Dogs Press. They have written several series of easy readers for adult English Language Learners and other adults learning to read. PHC is the author of Brace Yourself, a survival guide for adults undergoing orthodontia.
This entry was posted in Sights to See in Seattle. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to SOUTH SEATTLE COLLEGE ARBORETUM: Seattle sights to see soon

  1. My name Mohammed says:

    its beautiful place .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My name Mohammed says:

    its beautiful place

    Like

  3. Vanchu says:

    This is nice landscape!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. van chu says:

    this is nice landscape

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Diem La says:

    First time i went to Arboretum of South Seattle College. It looks like a diminished park. It looks gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hilda Nunez says:

    A place to relax,peaceful

    Like

  7. Petrita Villada says:

    Its a beautiful place. I like it there.

    Like

  8. Michelle Tapia says:

    Hi My name is Michelle Tapia
    this a beatiful place I have one year in the college and never visit this thas good have many different place for visit

    Like

  9. Michelle Tapia says:

    I have one yeat in the college an never visit this place thas really wonderful I like have many place for visit

    Like

  10. liban ahmed (and arleen) says:

    Some students are having trouble responding. This is a test!

    Like

  11. Liban Ahmed says:

    It’s really nice. I really enjoy it.

    Like

  12. Zeinab mohamud says:

    I went to the south seattle college arboretum park this weekend and last weekend. I was going to this school for about 2 years and I never been to this place. It had beautiful flowers and trees. It also had a big lodge were every one gathered at the end. Thank you for the invite

    Like

  13. nadifo abshir says:

    Nadifo Abshir, I really enjoyed seeing this, it’s beautiful

    Like

  14. nadifo abshir says:

    I really enjoyed seeing this place

    Like

  15. my name is nadifo, and i really liked this place

    Like

  16. my name is nadifo abshir and i enjoyed seeing this place, it is beautiful.

    Like

  17. my name is nadifo abshir, i really liked it, its beautiful

    Like

  18. my name is nadifo , i enjoyed seeing this beautiful place

    Like

  19. its a beautifulplace

    Like

  20. Pankaj kumar says:

    Arboretum is beautiful place I like that

    Like

  21. Pankaj kumar says:

    Arboretum is beautiful place for seeing I like
    This place

    Like

  22. Avtar singh says:

    It’s nic place to relaxsation

    Like

  23. Denh Thang says:

    I visited south Seattle college Arboretum last day,this is a marvelous place.I like it.

    Like

  24. Denh Thang says:

    I visited the south Seattle college Arboretum yesterday, this is a marvelous place.I like it.

    Like

  25. Sea Sea says:

    My name: Denh thang,I visited south Seattle college Arboretum yesterday,this is a marvelous place.I like it.

    Like

  26. Sea Sea says:

    I visited south Seattle college Arboretum yesterday,this is a marvelous place.I like it.

    Like

  27. Sea Sea says:

    that is the best place for walking

    Like

  28. Denh Thang says:

    It is the best place for walking.

    Like

  29. Susuki cortes says:

    Its a beautiful place 👍🌸💗

    Like

  30. Susuki cortes says:

    I loved the place. Has many flowers is beautiful trees.

    Like

  31. hanNa says:

    I am ready to visit

    Like

  32. Hsin Yu says:

    It was very wet and cold. We saw a pond with trees in the back. There were a lot of construction.

    Like

  33. Rina Ponce says:

    This is a peaceful place with many different plants!!! It was cold when I visited, so I hope the next time I am here it is warmer.

    Like

  34. Danh tran says:

    my name is Danh Tran says. I visited South Seattle College Arboretum the morning today with my classmate. Over here had big house, big fish, ravine,reef ,and garden . This sights very great.I will come back . I will come back many time later

    Like

Leave a Reply

